The Sunday morning ride

Daejeong, le 7 mars 2021

This morning the ride is to Café Crackers for lattes or cappuccinos or, in my case, a tangerine-ade. We ride for a little over half an hour of small up and down hills while chatting between us. We are six expats from Australia, Scotland, Guatemala, and Canada installed on Jeju-do to teach in an all girls international school. The conversation turns around the passing yesterday of the mother of one of our friends and colleagues, and the impossibility of our friend to travel back home for this event because of the COVID-19 restrictions.

I’m happy I decided to wear my jacket because the Jeju wind is chilly this morning. We have been to this Café many times before. Service is slow but everybody is happy with the coffee, pastries and ade. On each side of the counter, there are two sitting rooms plus a small living room space with cushions on the floor. Because there are six of us, we need to split up in two different rooms.

On the way back, I have a conversation with my Aussi friend about some Irish Fenians and French Canadian Patriots who were jailed in Australia by the British. I learn about the Irishman working on the American whaler, The Catalpa, who helped rescue some of his compatriots and aided their escape in 1876.

The Sunday morning ride is becoming a tradition. Keith usually sends a reminder on Saturday. We have a regular meeting place at 09:30. The more severe COVID-19 restrictions since last December make that our group is smaller. We usually ride for about an hour or so to a different Café every week. We often go to the sea shore for the view. We are usually back home a little after noon. I find this a great way to start a Sunday.

My sincere condolences go to my friend Terri in this difficult time.

Stay with Coffee, Jeju

5 thoughts on “The Sunday morning ride”

  1. I appreciate the snippets and peeks into a world so far away, potentially so different, but still with the common threads of friendship and curiosity and care.

  2. I am sorry for your friend. Your Sunday mornings sound amazing! Enjoy the gift of travel you have, even with restrictions. Thanks for taking me along though writing.

  3. My condolences on the loss of your friend. These are wonderful photos. The Sunday bike rides sound divine, a wonderful way to stay connected to friends during the pandemic.

  4. Sounds like a lovely way to start a new week. I miss having regular opportunities to sit and chat with friends. We can’t even do this in during lunch at school. Maybe once vaccinations have done their thing I need to convince my friends to find a regular place for a weekend chat.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *